Amberskinner’s Weblog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Loooong Pause

Well runners, I’m back with renewed vigor! I know it’s been a long time since I’ve blogged about running (I’m just not that great of a consistent writer even though I do it daily and as a way to make my living) but I finally have something to talk about. Three things to be exact.

1) My sister and I decided that, to celebrate her 24th birthday on October 3, we are committing ourselves to running the Baltimore half marathon on October 11 🙂 Obviously, everyone is more than welcome to join us!

Even though we’re both pretty into exercise/fitness and are both pretty insanely competitive, we’ve never competed against each other in the same race before. This half marathon isn’t necessarily a competition, it’s just something fun that we’ll do together to celebrate her birthday, but I have the feeling it’s going to become a battle.

She has a triathlon next weekend in New Jersey that she’s been training for for, like, months now. And she’s in really good shape. I am super excited to drive up there with her and cheer her on. I believe this is her first tri, although she has done marathons and half marathons before. Me, I hate the biking and swimming, so I’m resigned to the running bit.

2) I nearly killed myself on my run last Thursday. I was moving along my normal Thursday night route (but this time I did it in reverse direction) when a guy passed me! I know there are lots of runners out there (well, not a whole lot, but a good number) and I know there are lots who are much better and faster than I am; but in this space and at that particular time, I am used to being one of the only runners on the trail and one of the fastest.

Anyway, this guy (in a blue shirt and headphones) ran up on me and passed me! Stunned, I drafted behind him for a while until I could pass him at a light. THEN our back and forth, passing and drafting turned into a race. WOW…sprinting from Bethesda down Wisconsin Ave. to my street in Tenley Town almost K.I.L.L.E.D. M.E. Sadly to say, I ultimately lost the race 😦

3) I started running sans ipod 🙂 This started a few weeks ago when I accidentally left my headphones plugged into my computer at work and was forced to go on my run without music. For the first time in a long while, I could count my steps and breath and could hear bikers and other runners. It was great! Now I do it all the time.

I think it’s helping me improve my running. Instead of singing songs in my head while I’m running, I’m now aware of my breathing and my steps and my running form. I think I’ll continue without my ipod maybe until the marathon. But, I am wondering if I should run with my music during the marathon since I will be running for more than 3 hours, but hopefully not more than 3H 30M.

What do you all think?

No Responses to “The Loooong Pause”

Leave a Reply

